APC wins all positions in the Ebonyi State LGA elections


The Ebonyi local government polls, which were held over the weekend, have been swept by the All Progressive Congress (APC). The election results were announced by Jossy Eze, the chairman of the Ebonyi State Independent electoral commission ( EBISEC).

APC wins all positions in the Ebonyi LGA elections

APC was reported to have all 171 councillorship seats. Eze applauded the voters for ensuring that the elections went free and fair. In his words, Eze said: “Because the law gives me the power to do so, I’m going to announce the following results for each of the 13 local governments: “Abakaliki Local Government; Mr Ebere Nwogba who is a member of the All Progressive Congress, who followed the electoral process came out victorious after getting the most votes at the election.


Other chairpersons elected under the APC are Chinedu Uburu and Ebonyi LGA. Chidiebere Uzor wins position for Onicha LGA. Ohaozara LGAs’ winner is Chinonso Ajah. Afikpo North’s chairman is Ibiam Nnajiofor, and Afikpo South’s chairman is Ekuma-Nkama Chima. Eze went on to say, “The results of each of the 171 councils have been given to this commission, looked over, confirmed, and accepted.”That is to say, the All Progressive Congress (APC) has won in all the wards.” The All Progressive Grand Alliances (APGA) were reported to have boycotted the elections. 

The publicity secretary of the People Democratic Party (PDP) in Ebonyi state, Mr Chika Nwoba, has described the process as a “One man show”. 
In other News, The Incumbent governor of Ebonyi state, Dave Umahi, has been declared the winner of the All Progressive Congress primary election re-run for the Ebonyi south senatorial zone. 

Leader of the APC national committee of the primaries, Emmanuel Adebayo, declared the governor the winner of the exercise, which was conducted at the Afikpo North LG council headquarters. Adebayo reported that the governor pulled 250 votes to win the contest, with his brother Austin Umahi, who initially withdrew from the race polling ten votes, coming second.

“Mrs Elizabeth Chukwu got just five votes; Mrs Margaret Ibiam scored nothing. “As noted by Mr Adebayo. “The total number of votes cast was 275, 268 were valid, with eight said to be invalid.” Umahi, in his acceptance speech, applauded the party’s committee for directing a violence-free and credible primary election and gave accolades to the APC for always being transparent and credible. “APC is rooted in Ebonyi and will surely sweep the electoral stakes at the 2023 general elections”, He affirmed. 

A federal high court in Abakaliki had dismissed a lawsuit by the governor requesting that the court acknowledge him as the APC’s flagbearer for the senatorial district on July 22.

However, the law court recognized Agom-Eze, as second in the senatorial primaries, which were held on May 28, 2022. An election re-run was, however, ordered within 14 days, which produced Dave Umahi as the APC’s Ebonyi South Senatorial district flag bearer.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.